Home > Showcase > 2013 > The International Bratislava Schools Debating Championships 2013

The International Bratislava Schools Debating Championships 2013

The ACJC Debate and Oratorical Society has participated in the prestigious Bratislava Schools Debating Championship (BSDC) since its inception in 2011. Emerging Champions in 2011 and 2012, the College also produced the best speakers of the tournament in both years.

This year, Kok Rabin (2AH), Annabel Tan (2AH), Tamasin Tan (2SC2), Jesereen Kaur Cheema (2SC3) and Annette Yeo (2AD4) represented the College at the tournament. They were accompanied by teachers Mrs. Geetha Creffield, who judged at the tournament, and Mr. Kumuthan Martheya. Alumnus Pavan Krishna (Class of 2012) was also a judge, while Alumni Thng Yi Ren (Class of 2009) and Samuel Myat San (Class of 2000) coached the team.
Over 6 rounds, the College debaters clashed with speakers from Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia and Israel. In dispute were topics ranging from the dissolution of Czechoslovakia in 1992 to climate change. Winning five of six qualifying matches, the team advanced to the quarter-finals of the tournament. There, they lost to Turkey’s Robert College in a razor-thin 2-1 decision by the judges.

Though disappointed, the team was glad to perform well in the speaker rankings. Kok Rabin was ranked the Best Speaker of the competition, while Tamasin Tan and Annabel Tan were ranked 2nd and 8th Best Speakers respectively. The team returned home grateful to God for the lessons learnt and friendships forged through the tournament.
We wish to thank the school administration for their never-ending support. We also wish to thank our teachers-in-charge and our coaches for guidance and for never failing to be by our side. To God Be The Glory, the Best is Yet To Be!
Rabin Kok ( 2AH)
Captain, ACJC Debating and Oratorical Society