Home > Showcase > 2013 > ACJC Debaters Triumph at NUS-SCWO Championship 2013

ACJC Debaters Triumph at NUS-SCWO Championship 2013

On 22nd and 23rd March, the ACJC Debate Team competed in the NUS-Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations (SCWO) Championship. The College sent three teams to the debates. Team ACJC A consisted of Annabel Tan (2AH), Tamasin Tan (2SC2), Kok Rabin (2AH) and Ian Mak Wei (2AD3). Annette Yeo (1AD4), Samuel Wittberger (1AH), Jesereen Kaur Cheema (2SC3) and Lee Chan Young (2AA1), flew the college flag as ACJC B. A third team, ACJC C, comprised Lai Shueh Chien (1AH), Yash Mukesh (1SB3) and Jessica Nagulendran (1AH).

Over 6 rounds, the teams debated many topics concerning the role and future of women’s issues and feminism. Eventually, Team ACJC A triumphed, defeating Victoria JC, Raffles JC and the Singapore National Team to defend the Championship title for the second year running. Team ACJC B also qualified for the semi-finals, while team ACJC C made it to the quarter-finals. In addition, Annabel Tan was ranked the Best Speaker of the Finals. Samuel Wittberger was ranked 4th Best Speaker overall while Kok Rabin and Annette Yeo were jointly ranked 8th Best Speakers. 
The debaters would like to thank our teachers-in-charge, Mrs. Geetha Creffield and Mr Kumuthan Martheya, our coach Mr. Samuel Myat San and the school administration for their unstinting support. To God Be The Glory, The Best Is Yet To Be !

Rabin Kok (2AH)
Captain, ACJC Debating and Oratorical Society